- Advertisement -

Difference Between Lok Sabha And Rajya Sabha

0 3

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

- Advertisement -

The Indian parliamentary system is divided into three parts – Rajya Sabha, Lok Sabha, and the President. Lok Sabha is the lower House, also called the House of the general public. Rajya Sabha is the upper House of Parliament. Rajya Sabha is mentioned in Article 80 of the Constitution, and Lok Sabha in Article 81. Both the houses are significant. Today, let us know the difference between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. In this blog, we will also learn about the special powers of both houses.

Read Also : Lok Sabha Election 2024 : Next PM Election Date, Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha Election Date

Difference Between Lok Sabha And Rajya Sabha

There are many differences between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. Both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are necessary for the smooth functioning of individual states and union territories.

To understand the difference between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, look at the table given below:

Lok Sabha

- Advertisement -

  • Members of the Lok Sabha are elected for a term of 5 years. After this, the Lok Sabha is adjourned.
  • Many bills and laws are passed in the Lok Sabha to benefit the administration of the entire country.
  • The public elects members of the Lok Sabha through voting.
  • The maximum number of members in the Lok Sabha is 550. Of these, 530 members represent states, and 20 represent union territories. At present, the membership of the House is 543.
  • To become a member of Lok Sabha, a person must be at least 25.
  • The Speaker of the Lok Sabha represents the Lok Sabha.
  • Only members of the Lok Sabha can pass any law.
  • Lok Sabha has more powers than the Rajya Sabha.
  • There is considerable difference between the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha in terms of legislation; In which the role of Lok Sabha is essential.

- Advertisement -

Rajya Sabha

  • Rajya Sabha, the upper body of Parliament, protects the interests of the states.
  • While Lok Sabha’s tenure is five years, Rajya Sabha has no time limit. After two years, one-third of the members of the Rajya Sabha resigned from the Rajya Sabha.
  • The people of the several legislative assemblies of various states and union territories elect representatives of the Rajya Sabha.
  • The seats in Rajya Sabha can range from 200 to 250. Of these, 233 members are elected by the assembly members. The President nominated 12 members for their contributions to arts, literature, knowledge, and services. Members of the Rajya Sabha are nominated for a term of six years.
  • To become a member of Rajya Sabha, the minimum age required is 30 years.
  • The Vice President represents the Rajya Sabha.
  • Rajya Sabha does not have the power to make laws or bills.
  • The Rajya Sabha’s legislative powers are less than Lok Sabha’s.
  • The Rajya Sabha has been given certain specific powers and privileges to protect the interests of various states and union territories.

Read Also : The Big Picture! Understanding The Pros And Cons Of ‘One Nation One Election’

Speaker Of Lok Sabha

According to Article 79 of the Constitution of India, there shall be a Parliament for the Union, consisting of the President and two Houses – the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People).

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is usually elected in the first sitting after a general election.

The tenure of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha is five years. The Speaker is elected from among the members of the Lok Sabha (House of the People). Traditionally, a ruling party or coalition member has been chosen for this post.

Serial No.Name of the Speaker of Lok SabhaTenure
1Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar 15 May 1952-27 February 1956 
2M. A. Ayyangar 8 March 1956-10 May 1957
11 May 1957-16 April 1962
3Sardar Hukam Singh 17 April 1962-16 March 1967
4Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 17 March 1967-19 July 1969
5Gurdial Singh Dhillon 8 August 1969-19 March 1971
22 March 1971-1 December 1975
6Bali Ram Bhagat 15 January 1976-25 March 1977
7Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 26 March 1977-13 July 1977
8K. S. Hegde 21 July 1977-21 January 1980
9Balram Jakhar 22 January 1980-15 January 1985
16 January 1985-18 December 1989
10Rabi Ray      19 December 1989-9 July 1991   
11Shivraj Patil 10 July 1991-22 May 1996
12P. A. Sangma 23 May 1996-23 March 1998
13G. M. C. Balayogi 24 March 1998-19 October 1999
22 October 1999-03 March 2002
14Manohar Joshi 10 May 2002-02 June 2004
15Somnath Chatterjee 4 June 2004-30 May 2009
16Meira Kumar 30 May 2009-04 June 2014
17Sumitra Mahajan 6 June 2014-16 June 2019
18Om Birla 18 June 2019-5 May 2024
19Om Birla 
Speaker Of Lok Sabha Lsit

Speaker of Rajya Sabha

The presiding officer of the Rajya Sabha is the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, an ex officio post. The country’s vice president becomes the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. Thus, he has the right to preside over the affairs of the House. It is noteworthy that he is not a member of the House. Although the Chairman of Rajya Sabha does not have the right to vote, he can vote in case of equality of votes. In simple words, their vote is decisive.

The Speaker’s salary and allowances are paid from the Consolidated Fund of India. The proposal to remove him from his post can be made only in the Rajya Sabha. During the removal proceedings of the Chairman of Rajya Sabha, he is not allowed to preside over the session. The remaining duties and powers of the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha are the same as those of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, except that he has no say in deciding whether a bill is a money bill or not.

Read Also : UCC EXPLAINED | What Is Uniform Civil Code And Why UCC Is Necessary?

Serial No.Name of the Speaker of Rajya SabhaTenure
1Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13 May 1952 – 12 May 1962
2Zakir Husain13 May 1962 – 12 May 1967
3Varahagiri Venkata Giri13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
4Gopal Swarup Pathak31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974
5B. D. Jatti31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979
6M. Hidayatullah31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984
7R. Venkataraman31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
8Shanker Dayal Sharma3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992
9K. R. Narayanan21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
10Krishan Kant21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
11Bhairon Singh Shekhawat19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
12M. Hamid Ansari11 August 2007 – 10 August 2017
13M. Venkaiah Naidu11 August 2017 – 10 August 2022
14Jagdeep Dhankhar11 August 2022 – Incumbent
Speaker of Rajya Sabha List

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.